LOCATION

1391 NE Hudson Ave.

Poulsbo, WA 98370

CONTACT

360.509.9797

Subscribe for Updates & Offers

© 2019 Hood Canal Grand Cottage is owned and operated by Largé Co. Web Design by Largé Arts

  • Facebook - White Circle
-
00:00 / 00:00

Beautiful Property

★★★★★  5 of 5

Our group of 10 adults gathered here for 4 nights to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We appreciated the wonderful kitchen and spacious areas inside and out for our meals and time together, lovely bedrooms, campfires on the beach, and activities in the area such as wilderness parks and nearby town of Poulsbo. It was all perfect. We loved it, and hope to return again.

 

• Submitted: Sep 26, 2019   • Stayed: Sep 2019

/ Susan L.

Wedding preparation vacation

★★★★★  5 of 5

We rented Ernie’s house for our family’s vacation before our daughter’s wedding . There was plenty of room for all 14 of us . The house is beautiful and the view of the water was wonderful! Even saw a submarine go by one day! Thank you Ernie ! We’ll be back next year!

 

• Submitted: Sep 16, 2019   • Stayed: Sep 2019

/ Tammy K.

Great Place!

★★★★★  5 of 5

This home is absolutely beautiful! Our family of 12 fit perfect, enough bedrooms and bathrooms for everyone. View from the porch of the water was awesome, a great place for morning coffee. There was badminton and volleyball in the back which was fun for all. Ernie was great with info on places to see, eat and at answering any questions we had! Would definitely stay there again.

 

• Submitted: Sep 6, 2019   • Stayed: Aug 2019

/ Russell S.

Awesome property

★★★★★  5 of 5

Ernie and Kim were terrific hosts and their home was awesome and met all of our expectations. The large yard area and backyard fire pit were great. I would not hesitate recommending this property for your family vacation or get away.

 

• Submitted: Aug 18, 2019   • Stayed: Aug 2019

/ Colin M.

Wonderfull vacation house

★★★★★  5 of 5

house was very clean and very well finished. Stayed with 4 couples and 7 kids very comfortable.

• Submitted: Aug 8, 2019   • Stayed: July 2019

/ Tom C.

Hood Canal Cottage

★★★★★  5 of 5

Had a great time here. We had our annual family reunion with 10 adults and 4 small children. Everyone said it was the best vacation we’ve had. The yards and fire pit were a big hit. The house was very family friendly. The open floor plan allowed plenty of room for cooking, eating, game playing and conversation. We had a great time and the hosts provided everything we needed.

 

• Submitted: Jul 31, 2019   • Stayed: July 2019

/ Alexa M.

Wonderful family vacation

★★★★★  5 of 5

We had the most relaxing, peaceful stay at the Hood Canal Grand Cottage. My husband and I invited our parents and siblings to join us for a 5 night stay and the house was perfectly situated and set up for a week of fun, food and quality time with family. There were so many options of where to hang out (on the balcony, in the big living room, around the kitchen etc) that it was very conducive to a big group or family (especially for times when others want to get some alone time or quiet time, there are plenty of places to hang out). You can hang out in the yard, on the porch or on the beach – so many fantastic options. We would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a gorgeous, upscale home to get some much needed R&R or vacation time with family and friends. The kitchen is all set up with everything you need to cook all sorts of meals. Ernie was very communicative and helpful and the house looked exactly as pictured. Do yourself a favor and book this stunning home.

 

• Submitted: Jul 17, 2019   • Stayed: July 2019

/ Katie S.

Seattle

wonderful family retreat

★★★★★  5 of 5

Our family had a wonderful time reconnecting here for a week. We had ages 5 to 85 and all were entertained. The beach front access and beach are spectacular. We rented kyaks (they can deliver them to the property) and enjoyed the spectacular water. We enjoyed fires both on the beach and in the back. The house was clean and clutter free as the pictures advertised. We had no problems. Pack your soaps and shampoo's we had forgot ours and didn't realize none would be supplied. Plenty of linens on property! It's a beautiful place, very serene. Thank you Ernie!

 

• Submitted: Jul 11, 2019   • Stayed: Jun 2019

/ V D.

Wonderful.

★★★★★  5 of 5

We rented this property with our family for our daughters wedding in Port Townsend. It is a beautiful house. Very accommodating for a lot of people. We had a lot of fun. One of the best houses we have rented on VRBO.

 

• Submitted: Jun 5, 2019   • Stayed: May 2019

/ Kris W.

Perfect Wedding Weekend Spot

★★★★★  5 of 5

This lovely home is a short trip to Port Gamble (5-7 minutes) where we celebrated our daughter's wedding. With everyone coming from somewhere else, this big house allowed us to host immediate family and extended family. Friends and family also joined us to share meals and enjoy unhurried conversation, walks on the beach, and even a few games of catch on the lawn. The beds were very comfortable, lots of fluffy white towels, plenty of dinnerware, glassware, and flatware for a crowd. The large open plan living room and kitchen area was perfect for spending time with everyone. With a "no shoes" policy in the house, I suggest bringing or providing slippers with grippy soles for navigating the hardwood stairs. Highly recommend this property!

 

• Submitted: Apr 11, 2019   • Stayed: April 2019

/ Carol D.

Chico, California

Wonderful Family Get Together

★★★★★  5 of 5

Our family was able to come in from all over the country for a one week get together. The home was very comfortable with plenty of room. Enjoyed our privacy as well as two trips to Seattle fro Bainbridge, excellent food in Poulsbo and a quick stop at the casino. Decent hiking nearby.

 

• Submitted: Jul 25, 2018   • Stayed: July 2018

/ Steven N.

Whitefish

So nice we visited twice

★★★★★  5 of 5

Our quilting group returned to the Grand Cottage for our annual retreat and again had a wonderful time. We do a lot of cooking and love the well-stocked and functional kitchen (the knives are probably ready for a sharpening, according to our chef). The Bluetooth worked great for music and movies. We love the proximity to Port Gamble and Poulsbo. Thanks again!

 

• Submitted: Mar 19, 2019   • Stayed: Mar 2019

/ Martha D.

Excellent!!

★★★★★  5 of 5

Spent Christmas in this beautiful property with whole family. Wonderful location. Plenty of room for our group of 12 including grandkids. Home was decorated for Christmas, which we really appreciated. We did have a problem develop with the clothes dryer, but owner took time from his Christmas Eve to promptly take care of the issue to our TOTAL satisfaction! Highly recommended! Hope we can make it back sometime.

 

• Submitted: Dec 27, 2018   • Stayed: Dec 2018

/ Med L.

A wonderful family retreat

★★★★★  5 of 5

The Hood Canal house was the perfect fit for our family of 14 to stay for a 5 night getaway. There was plenty of space for for 4 little ones to run around while the adults relaxed on the porch.

 

Beds were comfy, kitchen was stocked, and the views beautiful. The house was filled with light from all of the big windows.

 

It served as the perfect escape from Seattle and family from California got to experience the beauty of the Sound.

 

We definitely recommend the house for your next family vacation!

 

• Submitted:  Aug 3, 2018   • Stayed: July 2018

/ Katy M.

Absolutely Wonderful!

★★★★★  5 of 5

I have a big family and the house and property were perfect and top notch! Ernie was extremely accommodating. The beach and the views were absolutely breath taking!! We really loved Poulsbo and Port Gamble. I highly recommend this amazing place!

 

• Submitted: Jul 25, 2018   • Stayed: July 2018

/ Gregory G.

Dallas, TX

Beautiful home for our women's group

★★★★★  5 of 5

We are twelve women who have been gathering annually for more than 15 years. We do a lot of quilting and a lot of cooking - some of us barely make it out of our pajamas, so we really put a house through its paces. The Grand Cottage was a lovely place to spend a long weekend, and Ernie was very responsive to a couple small issues and questions we had. Kitchen well stocked, beds comfy, plenty of bathrooms and we love the proximity to Port Gamble and Poulsbo.

 

• Submitted: Mar 27, 2018   • Stayed: Mar 2018

/ Martha D.

Lovely, comfortable and warm

★★★★★  5 of 5

We had 16 people in my husband’s family come together over the New Year and it was perfect. We used the fire pits at the beach and in the backyard almost every night and just lazed by the fireplaces playing board games and watching football all day. Everyone had space and everyone had a great time. Kids had their own space to hang out and play. We would go again!

 

• Submitted: Feb 4, 2018   • Stayed: Dec 2017

/ Stephanie S.

Magnificant Property and Amenities for our Family Thanksgiving Vacation

★★★★★  5 of 5

Our family of 14 from Minneapolis, Indianapolis, and Seattle gathered for a week at this beautiful Hood Canal Grand Cottage for our Thanksgiving Vacation 2017. We were all very comfortable in our spacious bedrooms, that each had a private bathroom. The optional studio came in handy for us also. The home is an impeccable retreat set next to giant evergreens. It was built with beautiful crown moldings, furnishings, fireplaces in each room, a spacious chefs kitchen, two family rooms, and a den. We were so pleased with the specatular views of Hood Canal from the veranda and upper decks that sweep the entire front of the home. The private beach is close by and offers additional enjoyment of the property, as does the spacious front and back yard lawns for outdoor play. We had plenty of kitchen space to make two turkeys on Thanksgiving, with all the yummy sides. This place is truly a Hood Canal hidden gem, with access to the ferry systems to Seattle for day trips. The quaint Scandinavian town of Poulso is just a few minutes down the road, that even hosts a Walmart. I am so thankful we found this place. Fun Fact: "The Hood Canal Bridge is the longest floating bridge in the world located in a saltwater basin, and the third longest floating bridge overall." This incredible bridge can be seen from all the water facing bedrooms, which each have built-in reading nooks. I can't think of a better view to enjoy a cup of coffee in the mornings or toasting with a glass of wine, after a day of hunting for seashells. Thank you Ernie and Kim, Hood Canal Cottage property owners, for making us feel at home in their gorgeous home, and being available for any questions we had during our stay.We loved our stay!

 

• Submitted: Jan 19, 2018   • Stayed: Nov 2017

/ Audrey F.

Beautiful property, lovely views, amazing host

★★★★★  5 of 5

We've been renting homes in this area for 10 years and this is right at the top on quality. Super thoughtful accommodation, with all the elegant but comfortable seating, great beds, spacious kitchen, outdoor furniture etc. Magnificent views, and the decks are perfect for taking them in. Love the multiple mini fridges. Beautifully clean, well equipped kitchen. Wifi was excellent even for demanding teenagers. We all loved the floors as well - beautiful and practical. Ernie was the best of hosts--very well organized, all logistics perfect, and we always knew we could contact him any time (though we had no problems at all). He even went so far as to give the property a new ping pong table, when I told him how fond my Dad is of playing. We'll be back...

 

• Submitted: Jan 26, 2018   • Stayed: July 2017

/ Anonymous

London, UK

Magnificent Property and Amenities for

our Family Thanksgiving Vacation

 ★★★★★  5 of 5

Our family of 14 from Minneapolis, Indianapolis, and Seattle gathered for a week at this beautiful Hood Canal Grand Cottage for our Thanksgiving Vacation 2017. We were all very comfortable in our spacious bedrooms, that each had a private bathroom. The optional studio came in handy for us also. The home is an impeccable retreat set next to giant evergreens. It was built with beautiful crown moldings, furnishings, fireplaces in each room, a spacious chefs kitchen, two family rooms, and a den. We were so pleased with the spectacular views of Hood Canal from the veranda and upper decks that sweep the entire front of the home. The private beach is close by and offers additional enjoyment of the property, as does the spacious front and back yard lawns for outdoor play. We had plenty of kitchen space to make two turkeys on Thanksgiving, with all the yummy sides. This place is truly a Hood Canal hidden gem, with access to the ferry systems to Seattle for day trips. The quaint Scandinavian town of Poulso is just a few minutes down the road, that even hosts a Walmart. I am so thankful we found this place. Fun Fact: "The Hood Canal Bridge is the longest floating bridge in the world located in a saltwater basin, and the third longest floating bridge overall." This incredible bridge can be seen from all the water facing bedrooms, which each have built-in reading nooks. I can't think of a better view to enjoy a cup of coffee in the mornings or toasting with a glass of wine, after a day of hunting for seashells. Thank you Ernie and Kim, Hood Canal Cottage property owners, for making us feel at home in their gorgeous home, and being available for any questions we had during our stay.

• Submitted: Jan 4, 2018   • Stayed: November 2017

/ Audrey F.

Hood Canal

★★★★★  5 of 5

We loved our stay! There were so many places on the property that we could gather as a family or enjoy moments of solitude reading a book or just relaxing. Each room was decorated with its own distinct personality and included a variety of amenities. There were many rooms with fire places that made rooms inviting and cozy. 

The location was ideal. First, it was beautiful. The sunrises and the sunsets were amazing. We saw wildlife that did not even know we were there. Very serene. 

On a practical note, we stocked up on supplies at Costco and the Central Market in Poulsbo and enjoyed the local restaurants. The house kitchen was amazing, and we were able to cook and gather as a family to eat meals. 

The area offered hiking trails that are easy to access, and one day we rented kayaks in Port Gamble where we encountered seals and a porpoise. In addition, we traveled internationally to Victoria (don't forget to bring your passport) via the ferry at Port Angeles and arrived back to Hood Canal with time to catch the sunset and have dinner as a family. Great day!

For you tech folks, the house included the most up-to-date technology, and everyone enjoyed the multitude of cable choices that were offered with surround sound to enhance the experience. 

Overall, the place was amazing, and we would love to stay there again!

• Submitted: Jul 30, 2017   • Stayed: July 2017

/ Monica Z.

Wonderful Family Vacation

★★★★★  5 of 5

Our extended family (12 adults plus a toddler and a baby) had a wonderful week-long vacation at the Hood Canal Grand Cottage. The house was spacious, luxurious, comfortable and made it easy to spend time all together for meals and games, but also had lots of spaces for quiet alone reading time or for smaller groups. The view is beautiful. The upper and lower porches facing the water were favorite spots for reading, napping and talking. We enjoyed croquet, bocce ball and whiffle ball games and time on the beach. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was spacious and well equipped. We were there over July 4th and enjoyed our own firework show, and the show supplied by a nearby neighbor. The primary bedrooms and the upstairs entertainment room are all very well protected from the noise our two grandchildren made in the downstairs living room early in the morning while others were sleeping. Most of us took the ferry to Seattle (a 20-30 minute drive from the house) and we had a very nice day exploring the city. Groceries are readily available within about 15 minutes of the house. The house was very clean when we arrived and everything was in working order. I highly recommend the house for family gatherings. Ernie - thank you for everything!

• Submitted: Jul 27, 2017   • Stayed: June 2017

/ James B.

GRAND INDEED

★★★★★  5 of 5

This a wonderful property located on the Hood Canal just outside of Seattle, it is the nicest property we have ever used, the pictures just do not do it justice. The owner is gracious and wonderful host. Our group had several special request and they accommodated immediately.The location and views of the hood canal and the Olympic Peninsula are as wonderful as we have ever seen. Upon arrival at the house everything was ready for us. The owner provided us with places to shop, eat and to visit, and all were excellent. The house is roomy and provides space for all. The Hood Canal Grand Cottage is GRAND. If in the Seattle area this is a must stay. There were eight of us (four different couples) and all had the same excellent experience.  When back in the area we will stay again. Thanks for the crab pot we had a great Cajun Dungeness crab boil, thanks for the Help! Ernie, thank you and your family for a wonderful stay, this a vacation we will not forget!

• Submitted: Jun 4, 2017   • Stayed: May 2017

/ Dwight j.

League City, TX

Mother's Day Retreat

★★★★★  5 of 5

Ernie, your home offered us the perfect Mom's (mom, bonus mom, daughter & bonus daughter) destination get away for mother's day weekend. The executive home offered lots of roaming spaces for the grand kids, the chef kitchen loaded with everything imaginable, was fun for all of us to co-cook together, the dining room was perfect for our family meals and the family room was perfect for board games and cards. 

The spacious decks and porches that over looked the yard, were incredible, and the sunsets were phenomenal. We even got great photos of the wild life and the submarine passing by. The trail to the beach was a short easy stroll. Although the weather wasn't warm, we still enjoyed the outdoors, inspite of losing our brand new drone in the neighbors tree. The beautiful landscaped yard provided a perfect back ground for our professional family photos. We had a fantastic family get away and definitely will be back. Thank you Ernie for a wonderful and memorable long weekend. 

• Submitted: Jun 3, 2017   • Stayed: May 2017

/ Theresa B.

Hosted a company retreat!

★★★★★  5 of 5

One of the best places we have ever stayed as a company! It was a great venue to show all of our guests how beautiful the hood canal can be. Super clean house with wonderful bedrooms and incredible views! We will be check back here every year for company retreats! 

• Submitted: Apr 10, 2017   • Stayed: March 2017

/ Mat J.

Perfect spot for a writing retreat!

★★★★★  5 of 5

The home is a beautiful spot for a retreat. It is private, remote, and has large enough spaces for people to gather, and have their own space. We enjoyed sitting by the fire places, cooking together, and working on our writing projects in the lounge over looking the Hood Canal. We found our time there inspirational and walks along the beach were the perfect way to decompress from our otherwise busy lives. 

• Submitted: Apr 7, 2017   • Stayed: March 2017

/ Jessica T.

Great Space for Family Getaway

★★★★★  5 of 5

Our extended family from MT and WI met in WA for a family getaway. We chose the Grand Cottage based on the layout of the house which provided great space to come together and privacy too. The house is beautiful and comfortable. Ernie was amazing helping us with information about the area including restaurants  shopping and fishing. We went crabbing on the canal and caught three big crabs that we took home to eat. The beach is awesome to explore with lots of water critters to see. Views are the best. 

• Submitted: Nov 3, 2016   • Stayed: October 2016

/ D N.

Beautiful family getaway on the water!

★★★★★  5 of 5

We rented the hood canal grand cottage for 6 nights in July and had our family come stay with us. There was plenty of space for everyone to spread out and lots of room to all gather together downstairs in the evenings. The view is spectacular, and the interior of the house is gorgeous! All 3 grass lawns are huge and plenty big enough for any kind of game. The beach has all kinds of unique shells and plenty of sand. We were able to collect tons of clams at low tide, and caught crabs in our crab pots right off shore. The kitchen is huge and well equipped, great for big family meals. Poulsbo is only about a 15 minute drive away with convenient shops and there are taxi services in the area that came in handy. The owners were very kind and friendly as well as professional, and they were quick to come fix anything that came up. We loved the combination of having the giant house and lawns, the beach activities, the nearby sightseeing and tourist spots, plus all the familiar stores you need close by and many small unique ones in Poulsbo. We had a wonderful time all around and would recommend the hood canal grand cottage to anyone looking for an incredible vacation or getaway of any kind!

• Submitted: Aug 14, 2016   • Stayed: July 2016

/ Angela H.

Amazing home for a family get together!

★★★★★  5 of 5

We stayed at the Hood Canal Grand Cottage to celebrate my father's 70th birthday! It was perfectly appointed, beautifully decorated, and had simply stunning views and outdoor areas! Our children were in paradise with the football fields of space to play in the front AND the back. We all remarked several times that we wanted to come back for another reunion! We felt like royalty in the beautiful home and were so grateful for the opportunity to stay at such a palace! Ernie was amazingly warm and hospitable and we felt right at home. It was a dream weekend! Thank you!

• Submitted: Jul 3, 2016   • Stayed: May 2016

/ Tiffany G.

Stayed for a week and loved the house...

★★★★★  5 of 5

My family and I stayed for a week and loved the house. Privacy for everyone as the house is very spacious. Elegant and a great place to spend time with family. My siblings and I are spread across the country and this beautiful large house afforded us a location to enjoy dinners and sitting around the fire place catching up. Our party was eight adult and a 10 year old. The kitchen is huge and room for everyone around the counter during prep time.Ernie and Kim the owners were great and helped us with the trip even before we got there. Highly recommend it.

Thanks 

• Submitted: May 26, 2016   • Stayed: April 2016

/ Gabe N.

Miami, FL

An absolute Dream House for our celebration weekend! 

★★★★★  5 of 5

Everything about our experience with the Grand Cottage was exceptional. We had 5 couples staying together for a celebration weekend and Ernie was completely invested in making us feel accommodated and special. The house and common spaces are gorgeous and spacious. We will be back!!

• Submitted: Jan 28, 2016   • Stayed: January 2016

/ Lars J.

Great weekend get-away

★★★★★  5 of 5

Great house for a weekend get-a-way. Spacious and pleasant in every way. Two large living rooms. Large lawn great for kids to play. Wonderful views and close to very interesting town of Port Gamble. 

• Submitted: Oct 20, 2015   • Stayed: October 2015

/ Nathan H.

Say Family Mini Vacation Retreat

★★★★★  5 of 5

We was with my family for the December 12 to the 14. We loved the house and the scenery and wanted to book it again for another getaway for 2015 summer, like between May to July. 5 stars to the whole trip and thumbs up to beautiful site. Spite the electricity being down for a couple of hours, but manage to improvised and make the best of it through the weekend for a vacay stay. We wish to be back soon as dated and bring our family together once again. Thank you...

• Submitted: Dec 15, 2014   • Stayed: December 2014

/ PhatToe

Tukwila, WA

Heaven in Washington

★★★★★  5 of 5

This home was beautiful and comfy. Our week long stay was effortless being that this home had all the amenities. Waking up to a great view every morning was also a huge plus! Hands down, I would book a trip to Washington just to stay in this house again. There were no cons to this home and I truly hated having to leave. You will also like working with the owners. They were such a pleasure to work with in booking this home for our family vacation. 

• Submitted: Dec 15, 2014   • Stayed: November 2014

/ Val02

Huston, TX

Fantastic week-end get away

★★★★★  5 of 5

Our book club arrived for a long week-end and could not have been happier with our stay. By the time we left we were already talking about what to do when we come back next year. The house is beautiful. 5 bedrooms, large and open kitchen, dining room and living room. We explored and ate in Poulsbo, it is only about 10 minutes away. Views from the house take in the Hood Canal Bridge and Mount Baker.

All arrangements were made on line along with a brief phone conversation. Ernie met us at the house to give us a brief overview. I look forward to relaxing again there next year. 

 

• Submitted: Nov 8, 2014   • Stayed: October 2014

/ Flower Lady

Sammamish, WA

Great place for book club retreat!

★★★★★  5 of 5

Our book club recently stayed at the Hood Canal Grand Cottage for our annual weekend get-away. We had a great time! This gorgeous house seemed to welcome us with open arms. We cooked, ate yummy food, played games around the table, relaxed... We'll definitely consider coming here again! 

 

• Submitted: Nov 2, 2014   • Stayed: October 2014

/ Nancy H.

Kirkland, WA

Best Vacation ever!

★★★★★  5 of 5

My entire family (18 of us) enjoy getting together and being on the water of Puget sound. This summer we found an unbelievable and beautiful house near Hood Canal with a wonderful beach front for finding shells, walking, and with a great view of the Olympic mountains and Mt. Baker. We rented it for a week and our 4 families with kids had one of the best vacations in our many years of renting different places around the world. The owner was easy to work with, very helpful and everything he told us turned out to be true. The pictures depicted his property as it is and the little villages near his property were fun to visit with the kids. If you enjoy crabbing for Dungeness crabs, it was the best crabbing we have found in 40 years of crabbing in the northwest. Our families ate fresh crab for an entire week. Some crabs were over 8 inches! All in all it was a wonderful vacation and the rental made for a true 5 star holiday! Thanks Ernie for letting us use your beautiful place on the sound!

 

• Submitted: Aug 8, 2014   • Stayed: July 2014

/ Jack M.

Wonderful 3 generation Fourth of July vacation

★★★★★  5 of 5

We were so delighted to find this gem on the Hood Canal! It was absolutely perfect for all ages especially the grandkids from 3-7 years old. The front lawn is great for soccer, football, water toys, etc. The kitchen was great for cooking the majority of our meals and there was plenty of room for all 12 of us to eat! We even used the BBQ grill several times! The walk to the beach was so much fun and the kids found lots of crabs and shells. But the highlight of the whole week was the fantastic fireworks display that we watched from the front porch, it was amazing. The view of the Hood Canal bridge was awesome. The owner was very helpful when we checked in and gave us lots of tips about the area. We would highly recommend this house for a summer vacation!

• Submitted: Jul 16, 2014   • Stayed: June 2014

/ Sharon L.

Wonderful 3 generation Fourth of July vacation

★★★★★  5 of 5

We were so delighted to find this gem on the Hood Canal! It was absolutely perfect for all ages especially the grandkids from 3-7 years old. The front lawn is great for soccer, football, water toys, etc. The kitchen was great for cooking the majority of our meals and there was plenty of room for all 12 of us to eat! We even used the BBQ grill several times! The walk to the beach was so much fun and the kids found lots of crabs and shells. But the highlight of the whole week was the fantastic fireworks display that we watched from the front porch, it was amazing. The view of the Hood Canal bridge was awesome. The owner was very helpful when we checked in and gave us lots of tips about the area. We would highly recommend this house for a summer vacation!

• Submitted: Jul 16, 2014   • Stayed: June 2014

/ Sharon L.

Beautiful, comfortable home

★★★★★  5 of 5

We had an amazing time at the Hood Canal Grand Cottage. Three generations including 4 grandkids and 2 grandparents fit perfectly into the house. Everyone had their own space and people were able to have fun in different areas of the house without disturbing the early sleepers. The kitchen was gorgeous and was well stocked with dishes, pots, pans etc. The view was beautiful and the yards were a great place for the family to play soccer, throw a baseball, Frisbee etc. The house is really well taken care of and it feels like a home away from home even though we were only there for a short time. The house is closer to the owner’s house than I expected, but it was never an issue for us – in fact, we only met the owner at the end and he was very nice and personable. Again, the house is beautiful and comfortable and we can’t wait to go back and enjoy it again. 

• Submitted: May 27, 2014   • Stayed: April 2014

/ Christina C.

Redmond, WA

Splendid family Christmas

★★★★★  5 of 5

Our family of 15 spent what turned out to be our last Christmas with my father at the Hood Canal Grand Cottage, and we were so glad for the memories we created there. We found the house to be spacious and comfortable; Ernie was a great host—greeting us and helping with any problems that came up, but leaving us to ourselves otherwise. The grandkids, six years old and under, enjoyed the beach and the area surrounding the house; we all enjoyed trips to town. My elderly father, in a wheelchair, had a delightful main floor room with plenty of privacy, and he was able to negotiate all the main floor easily. In our upstairs master bedroom, we woke to a beautiful view of Hood Canal, and several mornings, it was nice enough to sit on the private deck. The only negative we encountered was a scarcity of some kitchen tools and books, movies, etc. that we have found in some rentals, but that was probably because the house was so very clean. 

• Submitted: Apr 25, 2014   • Stayed: December 2013

/ Wanda D.

Wonderful getaway in Poulsbo!!!

★★★★★  5 of 5

We just had the pleasure of renting this home for a 30th birthday weekend getaway for two of my closest girlfriends and myself. We have been celebrating our birthdays together for almost two decades and wanted a place relaxing, by the water, near a fun casino, and large enough to accommodate our large part of about 15 people....well, this home was exactly all of the above. The home is large, warm, and inviting. Yes, there were small signs around the home as reminders but that really wasn't a bother to any of the guests...we understand that rental homes will differ from hotel rooms in that manner and the fact that hotels have crews of people to clean in between guests. I appreciate the owners giving us privacy despite their home being close by. They made sure to tell us about the ability of us to use the firewood inside their shed on the beach, along with the collapsible fire pit to build a bon fire on the beach. We used the shuttle service to go to and from the casino and had a blast. During the day we lounged in front of the fire place, drank wine, and played card games...took walks along the gorgeous beach while the boys golfed at the casinos golf course. We truly could not have asked for a more relaxing and perfect weekend for all of us girls and our significant others. We highly recommend this place to people and will definitely stay here again!!!

• Submitted: Apr 19, 2014   • Stayed: March 2014

/ Leah R.

Seattle, WA

A Fabulous Week

★★★★★  5 of 5

We rented the main house and both of the carriage houses for the week of my daughter’s wedding. I was so excited to find this place. We had a lot of out of town family coming in to celebrate. I wanted more of a comfortable, cozy place that would accommodate the majority of my family, rather that going the hotel route. I was like we hit the jackpot, the house is truly amazing! I will admit that I did have my doubts after I read the review about the owner living next store, but I can tell you Ernie was wonderful! He was there to greet us, and give us some wonderful suggestions. He was there if you needed him, otherwise you would never know that he lived next store!

The house is secluded, yet close to town, it is exactly as you see in the pictures. Each one of my family members that stayed at the house raved about how wonderful the place was, very comfy with more than enough room for all 16 of us. The yard was perfect for the younger ones to run around and play. This place was the perfect place to stay for our very special occasion! I would highly recommend staying here! Ernie and family, thank you for a fabulous week!

 

• Submitted: Dec 28, 2013   • Stayed: August 2013

 

/ H and Family

Seattle, WA

New Year's Eve Stay

★★★★★  5 of 5

Hood Canal Grand Cottage is a great get away for family and groups. The house set up is perfect to accommodate groups of people who need/want personal space to spread out in. The house and gardens are beautiful. We were fortunate to have good weather and nice views. Ernie was a gracious host. We enjoyed exploring Port Gamble, Poulsbo, and Port Townsend during our stay. There are two great restaurants in nearby Port Gamble that have great food and atmosphere. 

The only down side of our experience is the highway that you need to travel on to get to the house. I like to run and walk in the mornings and although the house is located on a side street and secluded driveway ( secluded enough that it is very quiet), I did not enjoy the traffic along the two way highway for morning walks and runs- too much traffic and little shoulder. Other than that, it was a perfect place for myself and family.

• Submitted: Mar 24, 203   • Stayed: December 2012

/ Travelers

Juneau, AK

The perfect place for a retreat

★★★★★  5 of 5

I was so excited when I found this place online. It was exactly what I was looking for. A place where we could gather a large group (16 of us) in a beautiful place and spend the weekend relaxing around the fire and creating art all weekend long. I am happy to report that it was indeed the perfect place for our group. Everyone raved about the beds, the location, the beach and were very pleased with the Hood Canal Grand Cottage. We did a lot of cooking and thanks to a well stocked kitchen, we had everything we needed. If cooking is not your thing, no worries. There are plenty of great restaurants within a 10 minute drive. The owners are so kind and helpful and truly went out their way to make our stay a 5 star experience. You can bet that you will get what you see here, and more! I highly recommend it. 

• Submitted: Mar 16, 2013.  • Stayed: February 2013

/ Serena

Pacific Northwest 

Owner's Response: It was great to be able to accommodate our Local Artist and her special guests from different parts of the Country, and help coordinate her special "Artist's Retreat and Workshop" here at the Hood Canal Grand Cottage and Guest Cottages. They were a joy to have, and I know they all greatly enjoyed their stay. I look forward to doing similar special events and venues of this type in the future. Thanks again for choosing our wonderful Custom, Vacation home and Beach property.

Amazing stay.....

★★★★★  5 of 5

We had the best weekend ever at the Hood Canal Grand Cottage and Guest Houses! We rented the house and both carriage houses and were able to comfortably accommodate 14 of us. Ernie was very helpful and always available to field all of our questions. We initially had reservations about the property owner being next door but during the weekend you would have never known he was there. He was there to greet us and we didn't see him again till check-out. The house is amazing and very comfortable, we actually didn't want to leave! We also got married over the weekend and rented the next door neighbor's grounds for our event. The property is amazing and the owner, Russ, is even better. We woke up Saturday morning to find him planting flowers, putting up tiki torches and making sure everything was perfect for our day. The property also has a stage and a great bonfire pit that everyone enjoyed! If you are looking for an intimate, non-traditional wedding, a family or friend reunion with great views and a beautiful setting I would highly recommend talking with Ernie and Russ...they will definitely help make your event or stay a perfect one. Can't wait to go back....

• Submitted: Oct 28, 2012   • Stayed: October 2012

/ Anonymous

Seattle, WA

Thanksgiving Holiday

★★★★★  5 of 5

Our entire family of 13 enjoyed the property and amenities that it offfered. All six grandsons could play football on the large lawn and enjoy walks on the beach. There was plenty of room for everyone to sleep comfortably. And we brought over our wheelchair bound grandmother. Plenty of room to move around with fabulous views of the canal. Anything we needed extra was provided by the owner.

We would highly recommend this rental property.

• Submitted: Dec 23, 2011   • Stayed: November 2011

/ Anonymous

Savannah, GA

Great place to stay 

★★★★★  5 of 5

We took the Washington State Men's Golf Team of 11 players and 2 coaches to stay in the main home and cottage house. It was a very comfortable place for us to stay. Probably too nice for college kids, but great for families! the location on the water is spectacular and easy access to anything you need. If your looking for a great get away in the Pacific Northwest it doesn't get much better than Pulsbo and this home.

• Submitted: Dec 13, 2011   • Stayed: September 2011

/ A guest from

Pullman, WA

Owner's Response: I want to thank Washington State University and the Men's Golf Team for Staying with us during their Collegiate Event at Gold Mountain Golf Course, in nearby Bremerton, Wa. Our home works perfectly for any group looking for a great, relaxing, retreat, after a full day of Golf, at any of our numerous, wonderful golf venues throughout the incredible Puget Sound area. Great Golf, accommodations, picturesque setting and waterfront create the perfect golf, getaway combination!

July 2011

★★★★★  5 of 5

The description and photos of this lovely property are accurate and match the comfort we found in this house! The property is very well-maintained and clean. The owner was available, if necessary, and provided an excellent welcome to our home for the next week. I would strongly recommend this property to friends and relatives. We hope to return for a visit as our experience was superb!!!!

 

• Submitted: Oct 12, 2011   • Stayed: July 2011

/ Mbc

Midwest

wonderful experience!

★★★★★  5 of 5

The house was great and just exactly what we were looking for. The owners are wonderful to work with and do everything possible to make you feel welcome. I'm sure I'll be staying again at the hood canal grand cottage. Thank you!

• Submitted: Sep 6, 2011   • Stayed: August 2011

/ Boone

Southwest

This is it!!!!!!!!!

★★★★★  5 of 5

Spent 5 days in mid-July with family members for a wedding at the nearby Farm Kitchen. Highly recommend this home for family gatherings. Very quiet, peaceful location. The owners are next door but are invisible unless you need them, which we did not since the home is practically brand new and has everything one would need. Plus the owner provides some great coffee upon arrival and throughout the stay. Well worth the price of admission. Plenty to do nearby for all activity levels.

• Submitted: Aug 10, 2011   • Stayed: July 2011

/ Huddy

Truckee

Thee Perfect Place for our Family!

★★★★★  5 of 5

We recently spent a week staying @ the Hood Canal Grand Cottage! OUTSTANDING! This was thee perfect place for our family. Sleeps 16 including the detached carriage house. Perfectly appointed, wonderful! Owners could not have been nicer; the owner met us upon our arrival, walked us through the residence, explaining the intricacies of the installed kitchen, electronic equipment, etc., and was very helpful.

Location: Poulsbo, Puget Sound, Washington State, USA (60 Minutes from Seattle. 75 Minutes to Sea-Tac Airport.) When you have in your family a new baby & the parents are paranoid about waking everyone in the house.... this is the answer - they were 20' away in the carriage house so they could join in all the activities and yet not worry about mid-night feedings! I just can't say enough wonderful things about this incredibly large home with a fantastic view of everything including the Hood Canal Bridge!

• Submitted: Jul 18, 2011   • Stayed: April 2011

/ Anonymous

West Linn, OR

Spectacular Family Home with a Gorgeous View

★★★★★  5 of 5

This beautifully situated home was absolutely perfect for our family and bridal party to stay the weekend of our daughter's recent wedding in Port Gamble, WA a 5 minute drive away. Our family of 16 made this beautifully appointed home their retreat for the weekend. Comfortable beds, quiet nights along with a huge and well-equipped kitchen, fireplaces and many conversation spaces all contributed to our enjoyment. The Coffee Room is a special treat! The view of the water and Hood Canal Bridge is spectacular. Access to the beach and a fire pit was a hit with our group. Ernie and Kim are a pleasure to work with. We will love to return. 

• Submitted: Jul 10, 2011   • Stayed: May 2011

/ Sue

Walla Walla, WA

A fantastic getaway for our family

★★★★★  5 of 5

We stayed at the Hood Canal Grand Cottage in late December to celebrate Christmas and our son's first birthday. We were a bit apprehensive about the trip because we were assembling both my family and my wife's family under the same roof for a whole week. From the beginning, Ernie was incredibly accommodating and thoughtful. We arrived to a house fully decorated, with a tree set up for us to hang ornaments, garland wrapping the grand staircase in the front foyer, and outdoor icicle lights hanging from the deck that created a magical sight as our families arrived later that evening. We had a wonderful week. We cooked nearly every meal, and the enormous kitchen and living area allowed us all to be together without being on top of each other. At any moment, there were a couple people watching TV, a couple people curled up reading a book, a couple more playing a board game, a couple more working on a puzzle in the breakfast nook, a couple chasing around our son as he explored the house, and a couple preparing food in the kitchen. It was just perfect for a large family. The carriage house, which is above the large garage, gave a private and cozy retreat for my wife's parents. The weather didn't cooperate for much of the week, but we managed to spend some time in Poulsbo, which is a great little town. And the Central Market has everything you could ever hope for to stock the kitchen and prepare great meals. We even dug clams on the beach during a midnight low tide using buckets and shovels that Ernie keeps ready in the shed!

This is a wonderful retreat in a great location, with everything you need for a relaxing and refreshing getaway. Thanks for a fantastic week! We'll be back...

• Submitted: Mar 6, 2011   • Stayed: December 2010

/ Dan S.

Seattle, WA

Wonderful Getaway

★★★★★  5 of 5

We spent the New Years Holiday with friends and family at the "Hood Canal Grand Cottage" in Poulsbo Wa.

What a Lovely Home, so relaxing, cosy, warm, and inviting. Beautifully decorated, imaculantly clean, with a beautiful

view of Hood Canal and the mountains. We dug clams on the beach and went crabbing. Nothing like FRESH seafood right

out of the water.

So much to see and do, and many historic places to visit in the surrounding area. The nicest place you could possibly find to 

spend your Vacation. If Five Star is the higest rating, This home is that and more!

 

• Submitted: Jan 8, 2011   • Stayed: December 2010

/ M. June

Pasco, WA

Perfect Week!

★★★★★  5 of 5

We rented Hood Canal Grand Cottage for the week of our son's wedding in Port Gamble. This beautiful home was the perfect place for my children and their spouses, my soon to be married son, and my sister's family to gather for a memorable week. We enjoyed gorgeous views, cooking meals together in the spacious kitchen, and sitting in front of the fireplace playing games. The large home provided plenty of space for privacy. Each bedroom was spacious and unique. The location was prefect for local wedding events, as well as sightseeing. The owner was very attentive and accommodating. We definitely recommend the Hood Canal Grand Cottage and hope to return someday. 

• Submitted: Oct 9, 2010   • Stayed: August 2010

/ Kathy

Claremont, CA

Perfect Location/Facility for Family Get-together

★★★★★  5 of 5

We were searching for a location in proximity to our daughter's wedding venue "plus" a facility that enabled a family re-union. We accomplished our objective on both fronts, The cottage + guest house afforded us the space to get together - yet find our own space when we needed it. The tranquility of the neighborhood was a bonus as was the view of the canal. The corrgae was impecably clean and well maintained. Everything we needed to make our stay a relaxing and comfortable one was at our disposal. The proximity to charming Poulsbo was an added bonus. The ferry to Seattle was easily reachable but far enough to get us away from the big city. Overall, an excellent experience.

• Submitted: Oct 7, 2010   • Stayed: September 2010

/ Clint

Michigan

Wonderful Family Vacation!

★★★★★  5 of 5

My wife and I were accompanied by our son and his family for five nights at this superb "cottage" in late summer. It was the perfect getaway from the pressures of work and upcoming school year preps. The owner met us upon our arrival, walked us through the residence, explaining the intracacies of the installed kitchen, electronic equipment, etc., and was very helpful. The residence was spotless and well-maintained, and the room layouts and furniture shown in the photos provided on the web site were 100% accurate. The stocked coffee bar was an unexpected treat! The spacious yards, front and back, served us well for croquet, frisbee flying, and 1- to 8 year-olds' general running around. The short walk to the Hood Canal waterfront provided peaceful vistas and beautiful sunset views of the majestic Olympic Range. The Kitsap County Fair (six days, late August) was a fun day for all. Poulsbo shopping and dining were just ten minutes away. Don't miss the Central Market on 10th Ave. Sluy's Bakery on Front St. is a "must." Mor-Mor's, also on Front St., served an excellent brunch on Sunday, and the free Poulsbo Aquarium with "touching pool" right across the street afterwards entertained kids, parents and grandparents for a good hour or so. In summary, our location on the Kitsap Peninsula was perfect and the "cottage" helped to make the vacation one of our most enjoyable ever. Highest recommendation.

• Submitted: Sep 4, 2010   • Stayed: August 2010

/ Anonymous

Orange Park, FL

Beautiful Property

★★★★★  5 of 5

Beautiful home. Very clean, spacious and well maintained. Furniture and beds were comfortable and inviting. Large, well furnished kitchen. Lovely yard with access to the beach. The owner was extremely helpful on-line and in person. The location was close to beautiful Poulsbo and shopping. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the weekend of our daughter's wedding. 

• Submitted: Aug 31, 2010   • Stayed: August 2010

/ Anonymous

Orange Park, FL

Fabulous home with gorgeous views. 

★★★★★  5 of 5

The Grand Cottage is beautifully built and decorated, and the views of Hood Canal and the bridge are stunning (especially at sunset). Gourmet kitchen great for cooking for a group, and it's a wonderful place to have a family stay together. The owners are incredibly kind and helpful (right next door) and even leave you plenty of their best coffee from their coffee shops. We had children and grandchildren with us and everyone had a blast. Large front yard is great for whiffle ball, croquet and frisbee toss. Easy short walk to the beach.

• Submitted: Aug 10, 2010   • Stayed: July 2010

/ Maggie

Greenville, SC

Special Place

★★★★★  5 of 5

Our family gathered at the Hood Canal Grand Cottage for a week fthe first week of July. The house was spacious and perfect for our three families. It is a beautiful house with a spectacular viiew of the canal and the mountains. We were made to feel very welcome by the Large's. They were helpful, friendly, and accommodating. This location is perfect for exploring the area. 

We highly recommend it for a vacation lodging.

Darrell and Carol Falen, Lawrence, Kansas

• Submitted: Jul 14, 2010   • Stayed: June 2010

/ D K

Lawrence, KS

Amazing

★★★★★  5 of 5

Our visit to The Hood Canal Home in Poulsbo was amazing! The home was beautiful, the location was great, the view was amazing, the beach was fantastic and the owner, Ernie, was wonderful!! We could not have asked for a more comfortable home for our March vacation. We will be back soon to experience summer at The Hood Canal Home. If you are looking for luxury, views, private beach and friendly people, this is the home to rent! We highly recommend this home! 

• Submitted: May 5, 2010   • Stayed: March 2010

/ The MN Family

Eagan, MN

My family stayed at the "...

★★★★★  5 of 5

My family stayed at the "Hood Canal Grand Cottage" while attending my niece's wedding in the area. The "Cottage" is actually an elegant home with wonderful views and covered decks that allowed us to really enjoy the exterior beauty that Hood Canal presents. The home is very well appointed. Each room has its own charm and was perfect for our three grown children and spouses. The kitchen is large and has terrific appliances and eating space. The beach is wonderful and very private We were the first guests and were quite pleased with our overall experiece. Mr. Largé was a gracious host, who saw to it that our expectations were met or exceeded while very much respecting our privacy. Would definitely recommend a visit.

• Submitted: Oct 18, 2009   • Stayed: October 2009

/ The David Family